Vehicle Insurance After a DUI
Trying to get Vehicle Insurance after a DUI? A DUI conviction carries many consequences. The Court costs and fines, and DUI School alone will set you back over a thousand dollars. Unfortunately, it doesn’t end there, because that DUI on your driving record will most assuredly send your auto insurance premiums skyrocketing. In some cases, you may have to change carriers entirely because your old insurance company won’t cover you any longer. Also, you will be required by the DHSMV to provide proof of a minimum amount of insurance required in Florida via a Form SR-22 in order to lift any DUI suspension from your drivers’ license.
Additionally, if you are convicted of a DUI, you will most likely be notified by the DHSMV that you must also obtain FR-44 Insurance coverage. FR-44 Insurance is higher than minimum limit insurance, and will therefore cost significantly more. In Florida, minimum policies can be obtained that cover just $10,000.00 per person and $20,000.00 per accident. FR-44 coverage requires you to maintain $100,000.00 per person and $300,000.00 per accident. This usually must be maintained for 3 years.
This often puts you in the higher risk category with auto insurance companies, which means your rates could increase and remain higher several years after you receive a DUI. And, since insurance companies are allowed to review the past 3 years of your driving history to determine their policy costs to cover you, you can expect to keep paying them for your offense for several years come.