While many DUI cases in Florida are considered misdemeanors, there are several circumstances in which Florida law dictates that a DUI charge be considered a felony. If you are charged with a third DUI within 10 years of your last offense, you will be facing a Third Degree Felony in Florida, punishable by a minimum jail sentence of 30 days up to 5 years in prison. A fourth or subsequent offense, regardless of when it occurs in relation to your prior offenses, is also a Third Degree Felony with the same maximum penalties.
You may also be charged with a felony DUI if you were involved in an accident in which someone was serious injured or died. Felony DUIs resulting in the death of another person are considered DUI Manslaughter.
As mentioned previous, a Felony DUI brings with it a much harsher set of penalties, including prison time served, the revocation of your driving privileges, and expensive fines. If you are convicted of Felony DUI, you may also be forced to have an ignition interlock device fitted to your car. With this device, you must blow into it to register your blood alcohol content (BAC) before the car will start. If you are over the legal limit, it will not start. You can find a summary of the penalties you face on the chart located here.
When dealing with a serious charge like Felony DUI, there’s little time to waste and proper representation is critical. The Tampa DUI attorneys at McIntyre Thanasides Bringgold Elliott Grimaldi Guito & Matthews, P.A. bring years of experience and success in DUI cases. Whether it’s a misdemeanor DUI or Felony DUI, they will work diligently and thoroughly on your case to secure a positive outcome.
Contact us today at 844-511-4800. We can help you.