DUI Manslaughter Defense
If during what would otherwise be a Misdemeanor DUI, your impaired driving causes the death of any human being or viable fetus, you can be convicted of DUI Manslaughter. This a Second Degree Felony Punishable by up to 15 years in the Florida State Prison System, the permanent loss of your driver’s license, and a $10,000.00 fine.
If, additionally, you knew or should have known there was a crash, and failed to stop and render aid and provide information as required by Florida Statute Section 316.062, the charge bumps up to a first degree felony and you will be facing 30 years in prison.
It is impossible to overstate the magnitude of the consequences of a DUI Manslaughter charge, and the complexities that may arise in your defense. Please contact our office immediately for further information if you have been charged with this offense.